Martina Wegman (NLD) wins 2014 Whitewater Grand Prix; Dane Jackson (USA) defends and is now 3x Whitewater Grand Prix Champion

As the sun went down on the 2014 Whitewater Grand Prix, cheers rang out in Quebec City as the WWGP athletes celebrated 14 days of high quality whitewater kayaking. The Giant Slalom finale finished the WWGP with strong performances on a challenging and intimidating course.

The level of whitewater mastery demonstrated throughout the event has been phenomenal with Dane Jackson and Martina Wegman now crowned the 2014 WWGP Champions !!

Rush Sturges (USA) finshed 2nd overall, with Joel Kowalski (CAN) 3rd in the men’s division; Mariann Saether (NOR) won Stage Six and finished 1point back overall in the women’s division, with Adriene Levknecht (USA) finishing 3rd overall.

Respect to the skills of all the WWGP athletes and thanks to everyone involved with the 2014 WWGP … [much] more soon !

Martina Wegman
Martina Wegman // Photo: Erik Boomer

Martina Wegman Stage Four
Martina Wegman above the crux during the WWGP Stage Six Giant Slalom. Martina finished 1second behind Mariann Saether (NOR) in this final stage, but her consistency throughout the competition declared her the worthy Whitewater Grand Prix Champion // Photo: Jasper Gibson

Martina Wegman Stage Four
Martina Wegman at the Stage Four Big Wave Challenge // Photo: Jasper Gibson

Dane Jackson (USA)

Dane Jackson
Dane Jackson // Photo: Erik Boomer

Dane Jackson Stage Six
Dane Jackson having the Stage Six Giant Slalom Finale’s cleanest line, winning the stage over Rush Sturges (USA) by 1/10th of a second and putting a stamp on his Whitewater Grand Prix Championship 3-peat. // Photo: Jasper Gibson

Dane Jackson Stage Four
Dane Jackson flying during the Stage Four Big Wave Challenge on the Mistassibi River. // Photo: Jasper Gibson

1 comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>